Board of Directors #9minutemeal Tan Less Shine More Cancer Prevention Day Team Less Cancer Become a Collaborator News

National Cancer Prevention Day

A resolution introduced by Representative Steve Israel Highlighting Less Cancer’s Efforts to Bring Attention to Cancer Prevention

Join Less Cancer on Thursday, February 2, 2017
Washington, D.C.


Information from last year’s event:



View or download Our schedule of events and speakers

2016 Ronald B. Heberman Memorial Speaker:


John Groopman, PhD

The research in Dr. Groopman’s program involves the development and application of molecular biomarkers of exposure, dose, and effect from environmental carcinogens. The environmental carcinogens studied include agents that are naturally occurring in the diet as well as those produced as a result of cooking practices. A major emphasis of the research has been in the elucidation of the role of aflatoxins, a common contaminate of the food supply, in the induction of liver cancer in high-risk populations living in Asia and Africa. This work has led to the identification of a very strong chemical-viral interaction between aflatoxin and the human hepatitis B virus in the induction of liver cancer. These biomarkers have also been used in many collaborative molecular epidemiology studies of liver cancer risk and recently employed to assess the efficacy of a number of chemopreventive agents in trials in high-risk aflatoxin-hepatitis B virus exposed populations. This research is now being extended to develop genetic biomarkers of p53 mutations and viral alterations in human samples as early detection of disease biomarkers using a novel mass spectroscopy based method for genotyping developed in the laboratory. Thus, the research in Dr. Groopman’s llaboratory focuses on the translation of mechanistic research to public health based prevention strategies.

Honors and Awards
2010 AACR-Prevent Cancer Foundation Award for Excellence in Cancer Prevention Research Award
2008 Gerald N. Wogan Lecture, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
National Cancer Institute Research Career Development Award
Delta Omega Honor Society in Public Health, Alpha Chapter
Phi Beta Kappa


This is the first year for the Elsie Hillman Speaker, a long time Less Cancer friend and supporter of the organization since its founding.

DENT Headshot 113th Congress - cropped

Congressman Charlie Dent 
2016 Elsie Hillman Speaker

Charlie Dent has served Pennsylvania’s 15th District since 2005. Congressman Dent was chosen to be the Chairman of the House Appropriations Subcommittee on Military Construction and Veterans Affairs and named Chairman of the House Ethics Committee.
Congressman Steve Israel While speaking to the House Democratic Caucus, former President Bill Clinton called Congressman Israel “one of the most thoughtful people in the House of Representatives.” Israel serves on the House Cancer Caucus and is known as a relentless advocate for middle-class families and veterans.

Margaret Cuomo

Margaret I. Cuomo, M.D.  Moderator


Justine Almada is executive director and co-founder of The HPV and Anal Cancer Foundation. She advocates for prevention, new treatments, and patient support.


E. Janie Heath, PhD, APRN, ACNP-BC, FAAN is the Dean and Warwick Professor of Nursing at the University of Kentucky, College of Nursing. As a nurse scientist, Janie develops and tests new ways to improve tobacco cessation outcomes.

Congresswoman Debbie Dingell
represents Michigan’s 12th District in the U.S. House of Representatives and is the founder and co-chair of the bipartisan Congressional Cancer Prevention Caucus. An active civic and community leader, Dingell is a recognized national advocate for women and children and is the founder, and past chair, of the
National Women’s Health Resource Center and the Children’s Inn at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

Meghan L. O’Hara  Recipient of Less Cancer’s Leadership Award
Meghan is a producer, director, writer of many award-winning films, including SICKO, Fahrenheit 911 and Bowling for Columbine. In 2015, Meghan released The C Word, a documentary film on the revolution in cancer prevention. As a cancer survivor, Meghan strives to empower adults and children to reduce their risk for cancer.



Larry Fisher Less Cancer Board Member


Miles O’Brien
Advocate, Cyclist for Less Cancer Bike Ride, Port Huron to Mackinac; Less Cancer Board Member

Miles O’Brien is veteran independent journalist who focuses on science, technology, and aerospace. He is the science correspondent for the PBS NewsHour, a producer and director for the PBS science documentary series NOVA, and a correspondent for the PBS documentary series FRONTLINE and the National Science Foundation’s Science Nation series.

meganwittphotography.com IMG_3322 - Version 2

Suzi Tobias Advocate, Founder Less Cancer Bike Ride­, Port Huron to Mackinac
Suzi Tobias is a Less Cancer advocate and volunteer. A lifelong cyclist, Suzi is particularly interested in spreading awareness of the importance of healthy lifestyle and physical fitness in the prevention of cancer.


Lorenzo Cohen. Ph.D. is the Richard E. Haynes Distinguished Professor in Clinical Cancer Prevention and Director of the Integrative Medicine Program at The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center and Distinguished Clinical Professor, Fudan University Cancer Hospital, Shanghai, China.


Graham A. Colditz, M.D., Dr. P.H.
2014 Ronald B. Herberman Memorial Speaker

Dr. Graham Colditz is the Niess-Gain Professor of Surgery, Professor of Medicine, and the Division Chief of Public Health Sciences at Washington University School of Medicine. He is the Associate Director of Prevention and Control at the Alvin J. Siteman Cancer Center at Washington University in St. Louis. He is a member of the Institute of Medicine.


Congressman Tim Murphy, Ph.D. represents the 18th District of Pennsylvania. He is Co-chair of the Cancer Prevention Caucus and the Mental Health Caucus.

David Christiani

David Christiani, MD, MPH, MS is a Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School, Physician, Pulmonary and Critical Care Unit of MGH, and the Elkan Blout Professor of Environmental Genetics at the Harvard School of Public Health.


View or Download Last Year’s Event Program here